How Does Web 2.0 Assist in Personal Productivity?

How Does Web 2.0 Assist in Personal Productivity?

What is Web 2.0?

The term ‘Web 2.0’ was first coined in 2004 by Tim O’Reilly. The idea behind Web 2.0 simply is having the ‘Web as a platform’, bringing your traditional desktop applications to the browser. You may not have noticed already, but we have all used a Web 2.0 tool in some way. Web 2.0 tools include social networking sites (Facebook and Twitter), blogging sites (WordPress and Blogger) and wikis. Google Docs is an example of a Web 2.0 tool that has been taken from traditional desktop applications such as the Microsoft Office suite to the Web.

Google Docs

In today’s increasingly complex computing environment, managing files can be a very difficult task to do. However, with the help of Google Docs, users can securely access, share, back-up and manage their files on the go. Google Docs is fully optimised for the cloud computing paradigm. Many disparate islands of data exist across devices such as desktops, laptops, servers, mobile devices and in cloud applications like Google, and users are struggling to securely access, share and back-up their files across all these devices from anywhere and at any time. With Google Docs, users and organisations are able to solve this problem by seamlessly managing, backing-up, sharing and collaborating with their files in one comprehensive and easy to use cloud-based solution.

Here is a quick video introduction to Google Docs.

So how has Google Docs assisted in my personal productivity?

The first time I was introduced to Google Docs was through a mate of mine at university. We had just been given this massive assignment and he suggested we use Google Docs to collaborate and share our work. What started as an experiment, in my mind, to test Google Docs for this assignment quickly became a permanent solution for all my group assignments and I haven’t looked back! Not only is Google Docs easy to use, it’s really easy to share documents with friends, back-up files and manage documents where ever you are.

For me, Google Docs has been the solution to all my group assignments. It has helped with working together on the same documents simultaneously while sharing links and ideas in real time rather than having loads of different versions floating around. Thanks to Google Docs, working in groups has been a lot less stressful and a whole lot easier. Using Google Docs has also helped me to identify who has been slacking in my group assignments. I came up with the idea where everyone in the group uses a different colour font for their allocated sections (this way, you can see who has done what and how much they have contributed). Wink wink! Google Docs has been truly amazing in assisting with my personal productivity and I haven’t looked back. If you haven’t given Google Docs a go, I recommend you do, you’ve got nothing to lose.

References

Google. (2011). Google Apps for Business.

Google. (2011). Google docs.

O’Reilly, T. (2005). What Is Web 2.0.

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Najla AlNomair on December 2, 2011 - 3:07 am

    Well-put! I use google docs on a daily basis, and managed almost all of my group assignments through it. with the latest features, I was able to chat with my group members when we were working at the same time from inside the document. I like how it tracks editing in real-time showing who is writing what as they write it. I think it’s the perfect tools for group projects. I also use it on computers with no office package installed or sometime to write my spontaneous thoughts and ideas if I was not at home or at work before I forgot them, and i’d read them later for better editing!

    One drawback though is the limited formatting options, also importing or saving as word or excel file shows a different formatting, usually very messy one, than it appears to be on Google docs.

Leave a Reply

